Seven Delivers Leadership in Sports

Seven’s longterm partnerships confirm the company’s leadership in sports television

Bruce McAvaney

Seven is focused on delivering the biggest sports events to all Australians. Seven is the network of the Australian Football League and the Olympic Games. Seven’s long-term partnerships confirm the company’s leadership in sports television with the network continuing to dramatically expand its coverage of major sports across its digital broadcast television channels and accelerate coverage across online, mobile and other emerging forms of content delivery.

Seven’s commitment to an expanding presence in sport builds on the network’s unprecedented new agreement with the International Olympic Committee. Seven is the network of the the XXIII Olympic Winter Games in PyeongChang in 2018 and the Games of the XXXII Olympiad in Tokyo in 2020. Seven is also the home of the Commonwealth Games on the Gold Coast in 2018.


Laurie Daley, Lydia Lassila, Cate Campbell, Todd Woodbridge, Francesca Cumani, Bruce McAvaney

Seven’s agreements for the Olympic Games, Paralympic Games, Commonwealth Games on the Gold Coast and the World Swimming Championships join the company’s longterm commitment to the National Football League, including the Super Bowl, The Masters, Royal Ascot and Wimbledon as major international sports franchises for Seven.

Seven also has all-encompassing agreements for coverage of the Australian Football League Premiership Season, Finals Series, the Grand Final and Brownlow Medal, and the local Australian Rules Football competitions, the West Australian Football League, the Victorian Football League and the South Australian National Football League, the Bathurst 12 Hour Endurance Race, all major horse racing events including the Sydney Easter Carnival, the Stradbroke Handicap, the Melbourne Spring Carnival and the Melbourne Cup Carnival, the Sydney-Hobart Yacht Race, all major Australian golf tournaments, the Stawell Gift, the Cadel Evans Great Ocean Road Race, the New South Wales Shute Shield in rugby, and all major tennis tournaments in Australia including the Australian Open and the Davis Cup. Seven also has all-encompassing rights to swimming in Australia and is the network of the Australian Swimming Championships.

Subscribe to the Mediaweek Morning Report with the form below.

Most Popular

To Top