News Awards 2016 Winners

News Corp’s Melbourne tabloid Herald Sun takes home five awards at the 2016 News Awards

The Australian's Paul Whittaker, right, accepts the Newspaper of the Year Award from News Corp chief executive Robert Thomson (Photo: Jeremy Piper/News Corp)

News Corp’s national newspaper The Australian won the two big categories at the News Awards 2016 held in Sydney. The Australian editor Paul Whittaker accepted the award for Newspaper of the Year from News Corp chief executive Robert Thomson during the night. Meanwhile, Dan Box, The Ausralian’s crime reporter, took home the Sir Keith Murdoch Award.

The was named Website of the Year. NewsLifeMedia’s premium food title delicious., which is edited by Kerrie McCallum, won Magazine of the Year.

Young Journalist of the Year:
Jack Houghton, Gold Coast Bulletin/The Daily Telegraph

Excellence in Layout and Design:
Joshua Beggs, GQ Australia

Innovation of the Year:
Fox Shots, Todd Procter, FOX SPORTS

Photograph of the Year:
Jake Nowakowski, Herald Sun

Headlines of the Year:
Andrew Piva, NT News

Specialist product / Publication of the Year:
SAWeekend Magazine, The Advertiser

Specialist Writer of the Year:
Grant McArthur, Herald Sun

Feature Writer of the Year:
Matthew Condon, QWeekend

Excellence in Graphics and Illustration:
Andrew Belousoff, Editorial Network

Photographer of the Year:
Alex Coppel, Herald Sun

Campaign of the Year:
Fair Go for Regional Australia

Cartoonist of the Year:
Bill Leak, The Australian

Sports Journalist of the Year:
Nick Tabakoff, The Daily Telegraph

Keith McDonald Award (Business Journalist of the Year):
Eli Greenblat, The Australian

Scoop of the Year:
Sarah Blake and Gary Ramage, Editorial Network

Best Coverage of News Event or Issue:
James Campbell, Herald Sun

Community Newspaper of the Year:
Herbert River Express

Regional Newspaper of the Year:
The Weekly Times

Website of the Year:

Magazine of the Year:

Newspaper of the Year:
The Australian

Sir Keith Murdoch Award:
Dan Box, The Australian

Subscribe to the Mediaweek Morning Report with the form below.

Most Popular

To Top