Trade week Fox Footy: Chief reporter departs, Garry Lyon arrives from Nine

Lyon played 226 games for Melbourne and kicked 426 goals across his distinguished 14-year career

Fox Sports’ Fox Footy channel has signed former AFL champion and media commentator Garry Lyon (pictured with Fox Footy colleague Dermott Brereton).

Currently hosting breakfast for SEN 1116 and co-hosting Footy Classified at Nine with Craig Hutchison, Lyon is making the move to subscription TV’s #1 winter channel.

Meanwhile, Fox Sports’s Jake Niall is leaving the broadcaster to replace Caroline Wilson as The Age‘s chief football writer.

Lyon played 226 games for Melbourne and kicked 426 goals across his distinguished 14-year, three-time All Australian AFL career.

A seasoned TV presenter and radio host with nearly 20 years on this side of the boundary line, Fox Footy’s newest recruit will provide his expert opinion and analysis on game day and across various entertainment shows to Foxtel subscribers.

Fox Sports CEO Patrick Delany said: “Garry says it how it is. With over 30 years’ experience playing and commentating AFL, he has a deep understanding of the game that few have.

“One of the sharpest AFL minds in the business, Garry has an innate sense of news, what shapes the game, and a passion for sharing his observations and love of the game and it’s why we wanted him at Fox Footy.

“We are always looking for ways to enhance our coverage and in 2018, the Fox Footy commentary team steps up another gear with superstar Nick Riewoldt recently confirming he will also be joining the Fox Footy family next season.” Lyon will work alongside contemporary superstars Jason Dunstall, Dermott Brereton, Paul Roos and David King.

“I can’t wait to kick off the 2018 season with my new Fox Footy teammates. I’m looking forward to debating all the latest footy news with Derm [Brereton] and Jase [Dunstall] and getting a firsthand look at the famous Fox Footy Lab,” Lyon said.

In 2018, Lyon will join fellow Fox Footy recent recruit Nick Riewoldt, along with the impressive lineup of Eddie McGuire, Sandy Roberts, Sarah Jones, Paul Roos, Dermott Brereton, Jason Dunstall, Jonathan Brown, Gerard Healy, David King, Gerard Whateley, Mark Robinson, Ben Dixon, Nick Dal Santo, Cameron Mooney, Brad Johnson, Kelli Underwood, Mark Ricciuto, Mark Maclure, Brian Lake, Matthew Pavlich, Alastair Lynch, Neroli Meadows, Danny Frawle and Mike Sheahan

Subscribe to the Mediaweek Morning Report with the form below.

Most Popular

To Top