2016 Quill Awards winners announced

The awards have been substantially reviewed and upgraded to reflect the changing media landscape

Andy Burns, Louise Milligan

Winners in each of the 27 Quill categories of the 2016 Quill Awards for excellence in Victorian journalism and for the Young Journalist of the Year Award and the Student Journalist of the Year Award.

MORE: Excellence in Victorian journalism – complete list of Quill Awards finalists

RoyalAuto has become the first auto club magazine in Australia to win an award for mainstream journalism.

The RACV’s member magazine, along with its digital and social channels, won the TAC Towards Zero Quill for Road Safety Reporting for “Impact”, a year-long digital, print and social media journalism project.

Impact was published online, on social, in print and screened on television.

The road safety awareness project was more than a year in the making and involved partnerships with Victoria’s two adult trauma hospitals (The Alfred and Royal Melbourne Hospital), Ambulance Victoria, the police and other emergency services.

Seven News used RoyalAuto footage to produce Impact for the nightly TV news.

Impact followed the stories of several road trauma victims from crash scenes, to hospital, surgery, rehabilitation and to recovery.

The 2016 Quill Awards winners

Andrew Dyson (The Age) Elbow room

Breaking News Coverage
Brianna Travers (Sunday Herald Sun) Battle Zone – Moomba riots

Business Feature
Ben Butler (The Weekend Australian Magazine) Keeping Up with the Oswals

Business News
Nick McKenzie, Richard Baker & Michael Bachelard (The Age) Corruption coverage

Camera Work
John Parsons (Nine News) West Gate Bridge police chase

Mark Knight (Herald Sun) Hair Force One

Coverage Of An Issue Or Event
Louise Milligan & Andy Burns (ABC 7.30) George Pell and Sexual Abuse in the Catholic Church

Features Photograph
Jason Edwards (Herald Sun) Beautiful balance

Feature Writing
Margaret Simons (The Monthly) Duterte’s Dirty War

Grant Hattam Quill For Investigative Journalism
Ben Schneiders, Royce Millar & Nick Toscano (The Age) Sold Out: Australia’s Biggest Wages Scandal

Innovation In Journalism
Soren Frederiksen, Conal Hanna & Craig Dixon (Fairfax Media) Real Footy On Messenger

Keith Dunstan Quill For Commentary
Tim Colebatch (Inside Story Magazine) The upside of the falling big party vote

News Photograph
Jake Nowakowski (Sunday Herald Sun) Moomba Gang Rampage

News Report In Writing
Tom Minear & James Campbell (Herald Sun), Minister’s dog act

Racv Transport Quill
Matthew Johnston & Alex White (Herald Sun) Sky Rail

Radio Current Affairs
Richard Baker & Michael Bachelard (theage.com.au) Phoebe’s Fall

Radio News
Seb Costello (Triple M Hot Breakfast) Usain Bolt wins 100m Gold in Rio

Sports Feature
Emma Quayle (The Age) Anthony McDonald-Tipungwuti’s long journey to overnight success

Sports News
Michael Gleeson (theage.com.au) Lachie Whitfield Drugs Affair

Sports Photograph
Alex Coppel (Herald Sun) Fernando Alonso’s Exit at Turn Three

Suburban Or Regional Journalism
Melissa Cunningham (The Courier, Ballarat), Ballarat Royal Commission coverage

Tac Towards Zero Quill For Road Safety Reporting
Seamus Bradley, Meredith O’Shea, Nick Place & Miguel Rios (RACV Royal Auto Magazine) Impact

TV/Video Feature (Long Form)
Adele Ferguson, Klaus Toft & Mario Christodoulou (ABC Four Corners) CommInsure Scandal

TV/Video Feature (Short Form)
Nick McKenzie & Gus Goswell (ABC 7.30) Foreign bribery allegations exposed

TV/Video News
Brendan Donohoe (Seven News) Euthenasia Cabinet Leak

Victorian Government Quill For Reporting On Disability Issues
Beau Donelly (The Sunday Age) Anthony’s Decision to Die

Young Journalist Of The Year
Bridget Judd (ABC Warrnambool)

Student Journalist Of The Year
Tess Ikonomou (Monash University)

Lifetime Achievement Award 2016
Niki Savva

The Harry Gordon Australian Sports Journalist Of The Year Award
Caroline Wilson of The Age

Gold Quill
Louise Milligan and Andy Burns, of ABC 7.30, for their reporting on George Pell and sexual abuse in the Catholic Church.

Graham Perkin Australian Journalist Of The Year
Caro Meldrum-Hanna, ABC Four Corners

Subscribe to the Mediaweek Morning Report with the form below.

Most Popular

To Top